Saturday, April 6, 2013

TODAY - 4/6 Exposing ALEC Panel - Livestream from NCMR

National Conference for Media Reform

2:00 pm -3:30 pm - Exposing ALEC: Corporations, Media, and Democracy

The American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC) is a corporate-backed organization that creates controversial bills that it pushes through state legislatures. Some of these include broad anti-immigration measures like Arizona’s SB 1070, Stand Your Ground laws designed to shield users of firearms and laws that prohibit communities from building their own broadband networks. Two years ago, an ALEC whistleblower leaked copies of more than 800 model bills on these issues and many others that helped clarify its strategy and create a roadmap for change. To stop the proliferation of these dangerous laws, we have to understand how ALEC works. This panel discussion will uncover ALEC’s tricks and illuminate the strategies we can use to encourage corporations and state legislators to cut ties with this group. Denise Cardinal, Bob Edgar, Lisa Graves, Timothy Karr, Randy Parraz, Rashad Robinson

2pm Mountain time
3pm central
4pm eastern

Don’t know who/what ALEC is?
It is time you did!!!
For lots of info about the American Legislative Exchange Council
check out this webpage

ALEC Exposed

No comments:

Post a Comment